Bengt Winblad Award at the AAIC

23 Jul 2015

Right now the world’s largest annual Alzheimer’s conference for researchers is coming to an end, AAIC (Alzheimer’s Association International Conference). Every year Life Time Achievements Awards is given to outstanding researchers to honor the three founders of the AAIC, among them Swedish Brain Power’s director Professor Bengt Winblad.


AAIC was started in 1988 by Bengt Winblad and two other prominent international Alzheimer’s researchers, Henry Wisniewski and Khalid Iqbal. Since then Alzheimer’s Association is handing out  Lifetime Achievement Awards in their name to scientists who have made outstanding contributions to Alzheimer’s research.


Bengt Winblad Life Time Achievement Award went to:

John Hodges, M.D., Professor of Cognitive Neurology at the University of New South Wales, Australia. Dr. Hodges has been a longtime researcher of cognition in the context of neurodegenerative disorders. He has authored more than 450 journal articles and five books relating to cognition and dementia. His current research focuses on frontotemporal dementia.


Ian McKeith, M.D., Researcher at Newcastle Biomedical Research Unit at Newcastle University in Newcastle upon Tyne and Immediate Past Director of the U.K. National Dementias and Neurodegenerative Diseases Research Network. Dr. McKeith has made significant contributions to the understanding of dementia with Lewy bodies and has led research efforts and institutions dedicated to scientific investigation into this and other dementia-causing diseases. He was the founding president of the U.K.-based Lewy Body Society and director of the U.K. National Dementias and Neurodegenerative Disease Network, which is responsible for the development of clinical trials within the U.K. National Institute for Health Research. His current research focuses on early diagnosis and novel therapeutics for dementia with Lewy bodies.


Henry Wisniewski Lifetime Achievement Award went to:

Donald L. Price, M.D., Professor Emeritus of Pathology, Neurology, and Neuroscience at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore. Dr. Price has made substantial contributions to research of several neurological diseases, including Alzheimer’s and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. He was the founding director of the Neuropathology Division of the Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center at Johns Hopkins and the author of more than 400 publications spanning a range of scientific investigations from the identification of therapeutic targets to the development and analysis of animal models of neurodegenerative diseases.


Khalid Iqbal Lifetime Achievement Award went to:

Alison Goate, D.Phil., the Mount Sinai Professor of Neurogenetics in the Department of Neuroscience and Director of the Ronald M. Loeb Center for Alzheimer’s disease at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City. Dr. Goate has worked on the genetics of Alzheimer’s disease for 27 years. She reported the first genetic mutation discovered that causes an inherited form of Alzheimer’s. She co-led the team of researchers that reported on some of the first disease-causing genetic mutations discovered for frontotemporal dementia. Her current research focuses on understanding the genetic risk factors for the more common, late-onset form of Alzheimer’s disease.

© 2010 Swedish Brain Power